Past District Governors - District 7070
A Little History
When the Toronto Club was formed in 1913, District 707 did not exist.  It took seven different district numbers, beginning with District 17, and 42 years before 707 appeared on the Rotary map.  The area had grown from one club to 65 by 1981.  At that time, District 707 extended from Guelph and Fergus on the west; Shelburne and Alliston on the north; through the Metro Toronto area and east to Belleville and Picton.  In 1988, redistricting took place and our district was reduced from 72 clubs to 50 and renamed 7070.  Today, we have 55 Rotary Clubs – as well as 8 Rotaract, 20+ Interact and several Earlyact Clubs.
DG Year Governor Club
Ivan Percy Brettell Etobicoke
1958-59 Edgar L. Ruggles Cobourg
1959-60 J. David Kennedy Guelph
1960-61 J. Archie Turner Mississauga
1961-62 Dr. Henry Kingstone Fairbank
1962-63 Edward G. Storie Oshawa
1963-64 Robert E. Day Oshawa
1964-65 Tibor P. Gregor Toronto
1965-66 John W. Hughes Willowdale
1966-67 James B. Dods Orangeville
1967-68 Howard L. Wright Toronto Leaside
1968-69 Kenneth A. Miller Scarborough
1969-70 Steward B. Munroe Toronto
1970-71 Peter B. Suttle Toronto-Eglinton
1971-72 Wilfred J. Wilkinson Trenton
1972-73 G. Raymond Gibson Bramalea
1973-74 Robert H. Watson Mississauga
1974-75 Vernon J. Heaslip East York
1975-76 Geoffrey King Scarborough
1976-77 Norman G. Guild Brampton
1977-78 William R. Mackay Bellville
1978-79 Bernard Crookes Toronto-Don Mills
1979-80 Paul McKelvey Alliston
1980-81 Francis Smith North Scarborough
1981-82 S. W. "Fred" Black Guelph
1982-83 Norman Simpson Toronto
1983-84 Leslie Faludy Toronto Armour Heights
1984-85 Donald F. Clark Picton
1985-86 Ken Hobbs Whitby
1986-87 Jack Miller Toronto Eglinton
1987-88 Bob Scott Cobourg
1988-89 Dunc Lyall Mississauga
1989-90 Jeff Mark Toronto
1990-91 Doug Dempsey Willowdale
1991-92 Ross Brethour Aurora
1992-93 Art Hillier Trenton
1993-94 Ron Denham Toronto-Eglinton
1994-95 John Hemmant Toronto-Don Mills
1995-96 Roger Hayward Alliston
1996-97 Ralph Jones North Scarborough
1997-98 David Ing Toronto-Forest Hill
1998-99 Nick Baker Whitby Sunrise
1999-2000 John Bertram Alliston
2000-01 Michael Cooksey Scarborough
2001-02 John Carr Toronto
2002-03 Richard Clarke Parkdale-High Park
2003-04 Bill MacKey Bellville
2004-05 Lars Henriksson Toronto-Eglinton
2005-06 Joan Hayward Alliston
2006-07 William Patchett Cobourg
2007-08 Lynda Ryder Etobicoke
2008-09 Mike Phelan Toronto East
2009-10 Doug Byers Whitby Sunrise
2010-11 Ted Morrison Oshawa Parkwood
2011-12 Bob Wallace Port Hope
2012-13 Ted Koziel Richmond Hill
2013-14 Valerie Wafer Whitby
2014-15 Brian Thompson Whitby Sunrise
2015-16 Michael Bell Etobicoke
2016-17 Jim Louttit Toronto Sunrise
2017-18 Neil Phillips Toronto
Mary Lou Harrison Toronto Sunrise
2019-20 Beth Selby
   2020-21            Mark Chipman                      Whitby Sunrise      
   2021-22                 Ron Dick                                 Oshawa    
   2022-23                Iosif Ciosa                               Etobicoke    
   2023-24               John Burns                              Bowmanville